In this System Settings module you can configure KDE's session manager and logout settings.
Session management refers to KDE's ability to save the state of applications and windows when you log out of KDE and restore them when you log back in.
- Confirm logout
If this option is checked, when logging out, KDE will display a dialog asking for confirmation. In this dialog you can also choose whether you want to restore your current session when you login the next time.
- Offer shutdown options
If this option is checked, KDE will offer a choice of actions during logout. These include simply ending the current session (the action performed if shutdown options are not enabled) turning off the computer, or restarting the computer.
You can configure what should happen by default when you log out of KDE. These options are not possible on all operating systems, and some of them may not appear unless you are using kdm as your login manager.
The options available are self explanatory, if you are in doubt, leave the default settings. They are:
End current session (this is the default)
Turn off computer
You may choose one of three options on what should happen when you log into KDE:
- Restore previous session
If this option is checked, KDE will save your current session's state when you logout. KDE will restore your session on the next login, so you can continue to work with a desktop just like you left it.
- Restore manually saved session
Instead of restoring KDE to the state it was when you logged out last, it will be restored to a specific state that you have saved manually.
If this option is checked, the start menu offers an additional item → .
- Start with an empty session
If you choose this option, KDE will never restore sessions that it has saved.
Finally, you can enter a colon (
:) or comma (
separated list of applications that should not be saved in sessions,
and therefore will not be started when restoring a session. For example