Profiles

Smb4K offers the use of different profiles. They are intended for better handling of different network neighborhoods, e.g. if you are using your laptop at home and at work.

By default, the use of different profiles is disabled and a default profile is used: one profile for everything. Most users won't have to change anything, because the default behavior satisfies their needs completely. However, for some users this feature might be very useful.

Enabling and Managing Profiles

The use of different profiles can be enabled in the configuration dialog. The first profile in the list, most likely the Home profile, is picked to be the active profile. You can also enable the profile migration assistant.

Two profiles are pre-defined, Home and Work, but you can define as many profiles as you want. A new profile is added by entering its name into the edit line on the Profiles configuration page and clicking Add afterwards.

Profiles configuration page (add profile)

If you want to rename a profile, just click it and edit the name edit line. Clicking Add will update the name in the list view. All stored settings will be migrated seamlessly (without the use of the migration assistant). A profile can be removed by selecting it in the list view and clicking Remove. There is also the possibility to change the order of the profiles with the Move Up and Move Down buttons.

In case you enabled the use of the migration assistant, it is always launched when you remove a profile or when you enable/disable the use of profiles. It provides the possibility to migrate all relevant settings

  • of a profile that is to be removed to another one

  • of the default profile to a specific other profile

  • of all profiles back to the default profile

The following screenshot shows exemplarily the profile migration assistant after you enabled the use of profiles:

Profile Migration Assistant

Under Old Profile the old profile (<Default Profile> in this case) is listed. Under New Profile you can choose the profile where the settings should be migrated to from a drop-down menu. The first profile in the list is preselected. Clicking the OK button migrates the settings, clicking Cancel cancels the action.

Note

In order to use the migration assistant when you enable the use of profiles the first time, you need to enable its use at the same time you enable the use of profiles.

Activating a Profile

By default, the first profile in the list is set active when you enable the use of profiles. The active profile can be changed in the Profiles menu of the main window or the system tray widget or on the Profiles page of the plasmoid.

When a profile is activated, several things happen:

  • All currently mounted shares are unmounted and are scheduled for remount.

  • All shares are remounted that were previously mounted under the activated profile.

  • The bookmarks of this profile are loaded.

  • The custom options of this profile are loaded.

So, don't be surprised when things change when you selected a different profile ...