This dialog allows you to configure automatic handling of removable storage media.
If you enable the automatic mounting features in this module, you will not need to use the device notifier applet or the navigation panel in the file manager to get access to a recently plugged in device.
At the top of the dialog you find the global settings, which can be overridden for each single device in the Device Overrides list. For a single-user desktop it is recommended to have all the check boxes above the overrides list enabled.
- Enable automatic mounting of removable media
When this is unchecked, no device automounting of any kind will happen, regardless of anything selected in the Device Overrides section.
- Only automatically mount removable media that has been manually mounted before
When this is checked, Plasma™ will only automatically mount devices it remembers. A device is “remembered” if it has ever been mounted before; e.g. plugging in a USB media player to charge is not sufficient to “remember” it. If the files are not accessed, Plasma™ will not automatically mount the player next time it is seen. Once they have been accessed, however, Plasma™ will remember to automatically make the contents accessible to your system.
- Automatically mount all removable media at login
If any removable storage devices are connected to your system when you login to your desktop, Plasma™ will automatically make the contents available to your system for other programs to read.
- Automatically mount removable media when attached
When this is checked, Plasma™ will automatically make the contents of any storage device available to the system when it is plugged in or attached.
- Automatic mount
This list contains the storage devices known to Plasma™. If On Login is checked, the device will be automatically mounted even though Automatically mount all removable media at login is unchecked. The same applies for On Attach.
If Enable automatic mounting of removable media is unchecked, the overrides do not apply and no devices will be automatically mounted.
Clicking this button causes Plasma™ to “forget” that the selected devices ever existed. This is only useful if Only automatically mount removable media that has been manually mounted before is checked. Once a device is forgotten and Plasma™ is set to only automatically mount familiar devices, the device will not be automatically mounted.