The Mounted Shares View

In the shares view, you can interact with the mounted shares on your system.

Different Views

Smb4K comes with two alternative views: an icon and a list view. They are both shown below. The default one is the icon view.

The icon view:

The shares icon view

The list view:

The shares list view

You can switch between the two views by selecting either the appropriate entry in the View Modes submenu from the Shares View menu of the main window or in the shares view's popup menu.

By default, only your own mounts are displayed. However, you can tell Smb4K to show all mounts by altering the respective settings.

Actions and Popup Menu

For the shares view several actions are defined. They are present in the menubar under Shares, the toolbar and in its popup menu. The following ones are available:

View Modes

Choose the view mode from the submenu.

Icon View

The shares are shown in an icon view.

List View

The shares are shown in a list view.

Unmount (Ctrl+U)

Unmount one or multiple selected shares. The ability to unmount shares is by default restricted to the ones that are owned by you. However, you can change this behavior by changing the settings in the configuration dialog. If no share is selected in the shares view, this button is disabled.

Smb4K also provides the ability to force the unmounting of shares (Linux® only). This might be useful with inaccessible shares that cannot be unmounted the normal way. To enable this feature, you need to modify the settings in the configuration dialog.

Read the Unmounting Shares section for more details.

Unmount All (Ctrl+N)

Unmount all shares at once. The restrictions noted above also apply here. If you do not have any shares mounted, this button is disabled.

Read the Unmounting Shares section for more details.

Add Bookmark (Ctrl+B)

Add a bookmark to the currently selected mounted shares. This action is disabled if no share is selected.

Read the Adding Bookmarks section for more details.

Synchronize (Ctrl+Y)

Start the synchronization of a share with a local copy or vice versa. This menu entry is only enabled if you installed the program rsync(1) and a share is selected.

Open with Konsole (Ctrl+L)

Open the base folder of a share in Konsole. This menu item is useful if you need to run shell scripts, etc.

Open with File Manager (Ctrl+I)

Open the contents of a share in the default file manager.

The popup menu includes all actions that can be performed on a mounted share:

The popup menu of the shares view

It can be opened by clicking the right mouse button.

Tooltips

The tooltips provide information about the share name, the mount point, the user and group, the login, the file system, the disk usage, and the free disk space. If the share is inaccessible, these values are marked as unknown.

Tooltips are enabled by default. You can deactivate them in the configuration dialog.

Inaccessible Shares

Smb4K periodically checks all mounted shares if they are still accessible. If an inaccessible share is encountered, it will be marked with a locked folder icon and you will not be able to open or synchronize it anymore. Unmounting and adding a bookmark is still possible.

Note

The program might freeze for a short period of time due to an inaccessible share. It will recover afterwards.

Icons

Three different icons may be presented to the user:

Three different icons
  • The icon on the left hand side indicates that this share is not accessible. Smb4K won't allow you to open it or synchronize it. You will only be able to unmount it or add a bookmark.

  • The central icon indicates that the share is online, accessible, and owned by you. You may perform all available actions on it.

  • All shares marked with a warning sign like the one on the right hand side are owned by another user. They are only shown if you adjusted the settings to display them. In the default configuration, you are not allowed to unmount these shares, but you can change this behavior, too.

Drag-and-Drop

Smb4K supports drag-and-drop in the shares view. To transfer or link data to a share, drag the files and/or folders over the share icon and drop them there. A popup menu will open asking you what you want to do. Choose the appropriate action (copy, move or link).

A popup menu opened after the user dropped a file onto a share

To avoid the popup menu, press the Shift key for moving, the Ctrl key for copying and the Ctrl+Shift key combination for linking while dragging and dropping. The transfer will only be successful if the share was mounted with read and write permissions.

You can also drag and drop the whole share to the desktop or to another application (e.g. Dolphin). Again, a popup menu will open asking you, what you want to do. When choosing the appropriate operation, please remember that under most circumstances moving and linking the share might not be a good idea.

Unmounting Shares

One or multiple selected shares may be unmounted by either clicking the Unmount (Ctrl+U) action or by pressing its keyboard shortcut. By default, the ability to unmount a share is restricted to the ones that are owned by you. This behavior can be altered in the configuration dialog. If you enabled the unmounting of shares that are owned by other users, you will be presented with a warning dialog prior to the actual unmount:

The warning dialog that is shown when unmounting foreign shares

If you click the Yes button, the share will definitely be unmounted. So, please think twice before you decide to unmount shares that are owned by other users!

Inaccessible shares are unmounted with a "normal" unmount by default. If this should fail, you can configure Smb4K so as to perform a lazy unmount on inaccessible shares (Linux® only).

All shares can be unmounted at once by clicking the Unmount All (Ctrl+N) action. Depending on your settings, this will also unmount foreign and inaccessible shares.

After a successful unmount process, the user is notified. If unmounting fails, a notification with the returned error message will be shown.

Synchronization

The Synchronize (Ctrl+Y) menu item opens the synchronization dialog. It offers you the mount point of the share as source and a path below the synchronization prefix as destination. To update the data on the share, you can swap the destination with the source by clicking the Swap Paths button.

URL requester for sync'ing

Clicking the Synchronize button starts the synchronization. By left clicking on the Notifications button in the system tray, a progress dialog can be opened that shows some details about the transfer.

Progress dialog

In the default, collapsed version it displays the source and destination of the file that is currently transferred, the transfer rate and the overall progress. More information like the number of transferred files and a graphical representation of the transfer rate can be seen by clicking the [+] (More) button on the left below to the progress bar.

The synchronization can be paused or canceled at any time by pressing the pause or stop button to the right of the progress bar.

Note

The total number of files that is shown in the progress dialog corresponds to the number of files present on the share and not necessarily to the total number of files that will actually be transferred.

The progress is calculated from the number of transferred files devided by the total number of files present on the share. Their size is not considered. That means that one very large file adds to the progress as much as a very small one does. Also, due to the way rsync displays the transfer progress, the progress bar is only updated after the transfer of the file finished.

Opening a Share

Smb4K provides two possibilities to open a mounted share:

  • Open a share with KonsoleYou can open the mounted share in Konsole by selecting the Open with Konsole (Ctrl+L) action. This is useful if you need to run shell scripts on the share or similar.

  • Open a share with the default file manager. You can open the share in the default file manager (e.g. Dolphin) by clicking the share icon or selecting the Open with File Manager (Ctrl+I) action.

Note

If a share is marked as inaccessible, it cannot be opened.