Authentication

Here you can change the settings affecting the authentication.

The "Authentication" configuration page

Settings

Save logins in a wallet

The login names and passwords are stored in a subfolder named Smb4K of the current network wallet (default: "kdewallet"). The advantage of this method is, that the authentication data is stored permanently and encrypted on your hard drive. You only have to provide it once and the next time it is needed, Smb4K will read it from the wallet. If you uncheck this option, the authentication data won't be stored at all.

Default: selected

Use a default login

The default login is used by default to authenticate to the servers in your network neighborhood. If you enable this feature, a password dialog pops up, where you can provide the default login information.

The default login input dialog

You have to fill in at least the user name. Empty passwords are supported.

Default: not selected

Wallet Entries

In this editor you can modify or remove existing wallet entries. Before you can edit them, they have to be loaded from the wallet by pressing the Load button. The list of entries appears then in the left list view. An entry can be edited by selecting it and clicking the Details button on the right. The details are then shown and can be modified.

An entry can be removed by right clicking it and choosing the Remove item from the popup menu. All wallet entries may be removed at once by choosing the Clear List item.

After you finished editing, the changes can be committed to the wallet by pressing Save.