Chapter 3. Configuring Smb4K

This section describes the settings that are available to configure Smb4K. To open the configuration dialog, you have to click the Configure Smb4K... menu item.

User Interface

With the options located here you can change the appearance and behavior of several dialogs and widgets. Please note that if you want to change the appearance of the main window you will find additional options under Settings in the menubar.

The "Appearance" configuration tab

Network Neighborhood

Behavior

Automatically expand domains and hosts

Automatically expand domain and host items when a list of associated network items (domain members or shares) is added or updated. Please note that a domain or host item will always be expanded when you execute it.

Default: selected

Columns

Show the type of the share

The type of the shares is shown (i. e. Disk, Printer, or IPC).

Default: selected

Show the IP address of the server

The IP address of the remote servers is shown.

Default: selected

Show the comment

The comment of a remote server or share is shown.

Default: selected

Tooltips

Show a tooltip with information about the network item

A tooltip will be shown when you move the mouse pointer over an item in the network neighborhood browser. It contains information about the network item such as the workgroup or domain name, host name, comment, type, etc.

Default: selected

Mounted Shares

View

View mode of the shares view

Define the view mode of the shares view.

The following modes are defined:

Icon View

The icon view mode

List View

The list view mode

Default: Icon View

Tooltips

Show a tooltip with information about the share

A tooltip will be shown if you move the mouse pointer over an item in the shares view. It contains information about the underlying item such as the share name, UNC address, mount point, owner and group, login (CIFS file system, Linux® only), disk usage, etc.

Default: selected

Miscellaneous Settings

Bookmarks

Show custom bookmark label if available

The custom description (label) of the bookmark is shown. It can be defined in the bookmark editor.

Default: selected