Misc Page

Folders

Ask for confirmation before moving all messages to trash

Enable this option if you want to be asked for confirmation whenever you use FolderMove All to Trash.

Exclude important messages from expiry

Enable this option if important messages should never be deleted during message expiration, i.e. during automatic deletion of old messages.

When trying to find unread messages

This option controls what happens if you press one of the shortcuts to go to the next or previous unread message (e.g. Space). If you ask KMail to go to the next unread message although there is no unread message below the currently selected message then the following happens:

  • If Do not Loop is selected then nothing will happen.

  • If Loop in Current Folder is selected then KMail will search from the beginning of the current folder for an unread message. If none is found then nothing happens.

  • If Loop in All Folders is selected then KMail will first search in the current folder for another unread message. If none is found then KMail will search the next folder containing unread messages.

Correspondingly, if you ask KMail to go to the previous unread message.

When entering a folder

This option controls what happens if you open a folder.

  • If Jump to First Unread Message is selected then KMail will select the first message it finds that is marked as unread.

  • If Jump to Last Selected Message is selected then KMail will select the message that was selected when the folder was open the last time.

  • If Jump to Newest Message is selected then KMail will select the newest message by date.

  • If Jump to Oldest Message is selected then KMail will select the oldest message by date.

Mark selected message as read after...

When you select a new or unread message, KMail will change the message's status to read after the number of seconds entered here. If you disable this option, messages will keep their new or unread status.

Ask for action after dragging messages to another folder

When you drag a message to a different folder, a small popup will ask you if you want to move or copy the message. If you disable this option, the message will be moved immediately, without a popup.

Open this folder on startup

Here you can set the folder that should be selected by default if you start KMail. If you use only IMAP folders then you might want to set this to your IMAP inbox folder. If you do that, you can collapse the local folders in the folder list, and then they will stay collapsed when KMail starts.

Empty the local trash folder on program exit

The trash folder is cleared of messages when you quit KMail if this option is selected.

Invitations

Mangle From:/To: headers in replies to invitations

Enable this option to make Microsoft® Outlook understand your answers to invitations replies.

Send invitations in the mail body

Invitations are usually sent as attachments to a mail. When this option is enabled, invitation are sent in the text of the mail, which is necessary to send invitations and replies to Microsoft® Outlook.

Exchange compatible invitations naming

Microsoft® Outlook, when used in combination with a Microsoft® Exchange server, has a problem understanding standards-compliant groupware e-mail. Enable this option to send groupware invitations in a way that Microsoft® Exchange understands. The invitation will be sent as an attachment with name ical.ics.

Outlook compatible invitation reply comments

When the user provides comments when responding to invitations, send the comment in a way that Microsoft® Outlook understands. If this option is not enabled, the response comments will not be seen in Outlook.

Show invitation update differences in the Outlook style

When viewing updated invitations, this option enables the differences between the previous and current invitations to be displayed in a way very much like Microsoft® Outlook. This is the default. The user can turn this option off if they want to see the invitation update differences shown in the classic KMail style.

Automatic invitation sending

When this is checked, you will not see the mail composer window. Instead, all invitation mails are sent automatically. If you want to see the mail before sending it, you can uncheck this option. However, be aware that the text in the composer window is in iCalendar syntax, and you should not try modifying it by hand.

Delete invitation emails after the reply to them has been sent

When this is checked, received invitation emails that have been replied to will be moved to the Trash folder, once the reply has been successfully sent.